Regents Park turned into a closed park only in 1812. The design is by John Nash, who originally designed a neighborhood with 56 villas built in various classical styles and a palace for the regent prince. Only eight villas – and no palace – were built in the park. Three are still on the edge of the Inner Circle.
The lake for boating at the Regents Park, which has a large variety of waterfowl, is a romantic place, especially when you hear the music from the bandstand in the distance. The Queen Mary’s Gardens provide pleasant sights and scents in the summer, when visitors can enjoy Shakespeare’s plays in the outdoor theater. Broadwalk offers a picturesque walking through the north.
Nash’s plan for the Regent’s goes beyond the Northeast, in Park Village East and West. These interesting stucco buildings were completed in 1828 and some are adorned with medallions in Wedgwood style.
From 5.00AM till dusk all year long
London NW1 4NR
Closest attractions: Madame Tussauds, Planetarium, London Zoo and Sherlock Holmes Museum.
Getting there:Regent’s Park, Great Portland Street, Baker Street, St John’s Wood and Camdem Town tube stations. Buses 2, 13, 18, 27, 30, 74, 82, 113, 139, 189, 274, 453 and C2 buses.
Telephone: +44 (0) 20 7486 7905
Facilities and Additional Information
- Disabled toilet facilities;
- Deck chairs;
- Tennis centre and Boathouse facilities;
- Guide dogs allowed;